This was completely enjoyable & a fascinating read! Take a second to read & learn a little in architectural illustration & design, while enjoy the drawings.
Enjoy & feel free to comment!
Amongst our holdings is the extensive archive of Gillespie and Scott, a firm of local architects active in St Andrews since 1876. The founding partner, James Gillespie, died in 1914, and the business was carried on by his partner James Scott (d. 1944) and Scott’s sons and grandsons. In 1994 the practice was purchased by architect Alistair Graham, who still trades under the Gillespie and Scott name, now from premises in Elie.
The practice became one of the most active of any East Fife architects, with work undertaken in every sphere of building activity: lavish townhouses and villas for expanding 19th century St Andrews’ incoming wealthy; cottages and shops in the town and elsewhere; rural architecture from farmhouses, cottages and steadings to country mansions; churches; schools; university buildings; even large industrial complexes such as the Nairn Linoleum Works in Kirkcaldy and the Guardbridge Paper Mill. It was…
View original post 200 more words